SPFX obtaining the URL Query Parameters


This is a very quick blog post, but I needed to obtain the URL parameters of the page for an SPFX webpart.

There is a built in method for obtaining URL parameters.

import { UrlQueryParameterCollection } from '@microsoft/sp-core-library';

...

var queryParms = new UrlQueryParameterCollection(window.location.href);
var myParm = queryParms.getValue("myParam");

I have found this very useful with Console Logs. I have a method called “logMessageToConsole” passing in the message. If I find a parameter called debug in my query string, then all the console logs are written out.

private logMessageToConsole(message:string)
{
var queryParms=new UrlQueryParameterCollection(window.location.href);
  if(queryParms.getValue("debug")){
    console.log(message);
 }
}

That way I only need to add ?debug=1 to the end of my URL or &debug=1 if there are already querystring parameters, and then I can see all my console messages. This is useful to quickly debug on production environments.