Building SharePoint 2016 development environment – Part 2 – Setting up and configuring Host Computer using Hyper V.


A few years ago I wrote “Build your SharePoint 2013 development machine on Windows Server 2012” series, I mainly work in the cloud now, but as the blogs was so popular, I thought I would create a new series for the newer version of SharePoint.

You can access other parts of this post below.

Setting up and Configuring Host Computer using Hyper V.

From comparing from my SharePoint 2013 blog post, I’ve noticed I haven’t actually upgraded my PC in 4 years. I still have an i7 3770K, 32GB ram. I have larger SSD hard drives than before. My host PC is running Windows 10, and I have activated the feature to include Hyper V (Same for Windows 10).

Configuring the Network adapters

I will be creating just two Virtual Machines. The Domain Controller machine and the SQL & SharePoint machine. I want the Virtual Machines to have internet access, but to be on their own network IP range. The following instructions will show you my set up.

  • Open Hyper V Manager, and on the right hand side of the screen, click Virtual Switch Manager.
  • Create an external adapter (if it’s not already there) and point the network to your external network connection of your host machine.
  • Then create an Internal adapter. Point that to the Internal network.
  • Click OK. To save your Virtual Switches information.
  • On your host machine, open up your Network Connections. In run command, type npca.cpl
  • When the Network connections open, you should see your two newly created Network switches.
  • Right Click on the External adapter and click Properties.
  • Select the Sharing tab, and then tick to ‘Allow other network users to connect through this computer’s Internet connection.’ Then select your Internal adapter and click OK on the properties.
  • The External Adapter should now say Shared

We will be doing further configuration within the Virtual Machines network in a later post, but for now we are done.

