Nintex.Workflow.Activities.Adapters.SPUpdateItemAdapter is not allowed on site


I’ve recently been working on the wonderful world of Nintex Workflow and forms. There will be a future post soon on Custom Actions.

However during my deployment to a test environment, I found that Nintex wasn’t performing the way it should. Mainly when I was activating a feature that contained a new workflow it failed to activate the feature. In the event logs all it said was:

Nintex.Workflow.Activities.Adapters.SPUpdateItemAdapter is not allowed on site http://cfsp.cannonfodder.local/system/NintexSite

After searching through the Nintex Forums I was unable to find any answers. In the end I had to resort to comparing my dev farm to my test farm.

First thing I noticed was that my Development domain had more entries in the Web.config than my test environment.


<WorkflowServices>

      <WorkflowService Class="Nintex.Workflow.Activities.Services.ReadWriteWorkflowVariablesService" Assembly="Nintex.Workflow, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=913f6bae0ca5ae12" />

       <WorkflowService Class="Nintex.Workflow.Activities.Services.WorkflowInstanceService" Assembly="Nintex.Workflow, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=913f6bae0ca5ae12" />

    </WorkflowServices>

This was a simple fix. The Nintex Workflow hadn’t been properly activated on the Web Application. Now I don’t know if there is a way to do this directly with a feature, but in Central Administration -> Nintex Workflow Management there is a link to Web Application activation. By clicking this link and selecting the correct Web Application and then clicking Activate, the web config will be correctly updated with the relevant configuration information required to run Nintex Workflow.

However, this didn’t solve my problem when I activated my feature. The next thing I compared between environments was Managed allowed actions. You can find this by going Central Administration -> Nintex Workflow Management -> Manage allowed actions

In allowed actions on my test environment I noticed that all items apart from the Custom Actions that I had added in a feature (how in a future post), we unchecked.

However in my Dev environment they were all checked. I therefore checked them all, Clicked OK on the page, and then went back to my site and retried to activate my feature. The feature activated without a problem.

Now I know what the problem was the error message makes a little sense.

Nintex.Workflow.Activities.Adapters.SPUpdateItemAdapter is not allowed on site – Each Custom Action does have an adapter, and the purpose of the Administrative page in Central admin is to allow the Custom Action to be used across the farm.

