Building your SharePoint 2013 development machine on Windows Server 2012 – Part 2 – Setting up and configuring Host Computer using Hyper V and a Wireless Network.


UPDATE: SharePoint 2016 development machine

I am doing a collection of blog posts you can access the other parts of this post below.

Setting up and Configuring Host Computer using Hyper V and a Wireless Network.

My current set up is a PC, has i7 3770k processor, 32GB ram, 128GB SSD and 256GB SSD and a few standard hard drives totaling up to 3TB of disk space. My host pc is running Windows 8, and I have activated the feature to include Hyper V. Also because I haven’t finished decorating yet, I don’t have a phone line near where my pc is, so I’m currently using wireless.

Now I had a lot of trouble the other night trying to connect my Virtual Machine to the internet using my wireless card. If you click on Virtual Switch Manager and select External Network you can clearly see the wireless card. However it didn’t seem to work for me.

So what did I do?

  1. Using Virtual Switch Manager in Hyper V, Create a new Internal Virtual Switch. Click OK and close Virtual Switch Manager.
  2. In the Start area under settings search for View Network Connections.
  3. You should now notice you have a new Unidentified network Hyper-V Virtual Ethernet Adapter.
  4. Right click on your Wi-Fi and select properties and select the Sharing Tab.
  5. Under Internet Connection Sharing, tick Allow other network users to connect through this computer’s internet connection.
  6. Under Home networking connection. Select the vEthernet (Internal LAN). Click OK.
  7. Now when you create virtual machines and use the Internal virtual switch your virtual machines will have internet connection.
One thought on “Building your SharePoint 2013 development machine on Windows Server 2012 – Part 2 – Setting up and configuring Host Computer using Hyper V and a Wireless Network.

Comments are closed.